Your Inner-Critic is a Whore: Part I

Your inner-critic or whatever you call that nagging little
“‘You’re not enough’,
‘No one will accept you’,
‘Who the hell do you think you are?'”
voice inside your head is a whore – that bitch gets around.

This cheap hussy leaves you feeling guilty, empty, and insecure;
your inner-critic will use and abuse you to build its own ego at the expense of your sanity..

Have you heard other people talk about having the same insecurities that you do and still thought – they have it so good, why would they feel like that or conversely I’m so not as bad (s)he is.

Well let me bring the notion on home for you
– that same tiny voice that you’ve been letting drive you around
is the same one lurking in the shadowy subconscious
of your friends,
and your enemies,
your idols,
and that complete stranger sitting across from you in the cafe.

That voice is spreading the same “sacred lie” that we all have fallen prey to at one time or another

“I am not enough”.

The “sacred lie” because your inner critic makes you
covet it,
seek reasons to make it seem true,
and at times worship it, letting it govern every aspect of our being.

The inner-critic uses the sacred lie and dresses it up in different trappings to suit your own individual insecurities.

Isn’t that so sweet?

You can witness the I am not enough phenomena by the number of
bullies and suicides,
pointless self-indulgent Facebook postings,
pipe dreams that never launch off of the ground,
full pubs and empty churches,
eating disorders
and the list goes on from the mundane to the downright tragic.

Still think you’re alone?

Where are you letting this whore robbing you of your power?

Stay tuned for Part II: Make That Whore Work For You

9 thoughts on “Your Inner-Critic is a Whore: Part I

  1. Love it. I use the inner critic in my self confidence building courses and you are so right. We all have this voice inside our head trying to bring us down. Thanks for sharing and thanks for subscribing to my blog. I shall return often to see what you are up to.

    • Totally agree, we can benefit from the inner-critic if we keep it in check.

      Thank you, thank you! I adore what I’ve read so far, I’m hoping to have more time to peruse this weekend. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Confession: My Struggle With Want and Need in Relationships | Live Hard Love Hard

  3. Pingback: I Permit You, Nay Challenge You: Shovel Out The Bull*ish To Get To The Good *Ish | Live Hard Love Hard

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

