Your Are Your Thoughts… But Then Again You’re Not

Anyone that has picked up on the tail end of an Oprah episode,
taken any self-improvement seminar,
or read the first few (or last) pages of a self help book
has been introduced to the concept of positive thinking.

Think abundance – get abundance.
Think love – get love.
Think happiness – be happy.
Think poop – get poop (metaphorically!… maybe)

You are your thoughts – but then again you’re not.

I tend to have a very cheeky, sarcastic, sometimes even slightly twisted sense of humor.
There are times when I have the maturity of a teenage boy.
Sometimes I cling to that Sacred Lie and create excuses:
-I can’t do this
-No one will listen to me
-I don’t have enough… yadda yadda yadda.

Even though this part of me exists,
I am still a bright and bubbly,
loving,
rose-tinted (but fairly realistic) glasses wearing,
thriving optimist.

I’ve seen positive thinking boasted (and roasted)
as being the new agey tenant and flavor of the moment.
I want to explain what I take away from the concept  – you take what works for you and leave the rest.

Positive thoughts are the light and negative thoughts are the dark.
Simple enough right?
You can introduce light into a dark room,
but you cannot introduce darkness into a lit room;
unless you extinguish the light in some capacity
– be it blotting out the candle or introducing an obstacle.
Even in a dark room you can see the tiniest sliver of light.
Even in the shadows that obstacles bring
all you need is that ONE candle to begin to eradicate it.
To me this represents that light is a more powerful force than darkness.

That being said,
it is imperative to accept the darkness
– for light would not exist without it;
we would not be able to respect light without it
and it adds balance and wisdom to our lives.

The whole point here in this push for a more rosy state of mind
is not to go on through life blindly optimistic
it’s more about the silver-lining,
more about learning the lessons that darkness provides.
It’s all about not living in the darkness.

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

