Which Is Right? Simplicity v. Controlled Chaos

Simplicity is necessary.
It is sexy, streamlined, clean.
A line, a silhouette, a deep breath.
Messages of less is more turn ‘round and ‘round in my head.
They are plastered all over the internet, religion, and the odd streetlight in the middle of a bustling city.
I understand
the importance of one tiered intentions,
the beauty in brevity,
the healing of purging junk thoughts, junk food, and plain ol’ junk.

Truth is I find comfort in complexity. I have made my home in chaos and this is where I am happiest.
This past year I have stepped out of my comfort zone and embraced a certain, for lack of a better term, balance (more on balance at in ‘ze next post) between minimalist practices and the controlled chaos that I thrive best in.
There have been many times that I have wrestled with myself on how I “should” be even though of course I know how useless and damaging that is.
If you are a multi-tasking hurricane with an order system that you can’t even explain – do not make that wrong.

Just in case you were wondering:
Yes, there is a time for each habit to shine.
Yes, there are methods that work best for different tasks.
Yes, it is entirely possible to straddle that fine line.
Yes, clarity can exist amidst the craziness. It can exist with the craziness.

Are you analytical and pragmatic or erratic and idealistic; perhaps some odd combination of both. How do you balance these sides in different situations? Do you ever feel guilt or shame in being one way or another (caught up in the should-be’s)? I’d love to hear how you feel and how you deal!

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

