Nostalgia v. Dwelling – How I Walk That Line

O que melhor do que fotografia, pra quem se al...

O que melhor do que fotografia, pra quem se alimenta de nostalgia? (Photo credit: Maria H.)

I straddle this line, it has always been a hard one for me to separate and at times I still struggle.

Nostalgia v. Dwelling.

Is there a difference or has changing my perception allowed me to create a difference in my head?

As a rule, I don’t like to dwell on things – as in I don’t like to make that my home or launch pad.

However I am notoriously nostalgic.

It’s hard for me to let go of things and memories,

and I replay them in my head like old home movies from time to time.

I pick them up and polish them when I’m on my saddest, loneliest days

and use them to remember that a time of love and laughter once existed and will again.

So when does the shift occur –

the shift between allowing memories to creep up at will and pull your lips into a knowing smile

and letting restless memories grab at you constantly, keeping you with one eye on the horizon behind you?

I used to think that if these memories no longer affected my emotional state then I was past them.

Now, I have a slightly different view;

if I can smile at it and put it back in the drawer without examining every detail and changing things in my head to get the outcome I wished for – I’m good.

For those moments the nostalgia – dwelling lines blur and I just can’t seem to get past the past

I take a deep breath and turn my attention to “what is” NOW.

Completely immersing yourself in the present moment

is one of the strongest prescriptions I can offer to what ails ya’.

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia v. Dwelling – How I Walk That Line

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

