Just Smile and Say Thank You For Crying Out Loud

Smile Pretty, Say Pink

Smile Pretty, Say Pink (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From time to time I still catch myself doing this too: If someone compliments you – take the damn compliment… really. Modesty is one thing and I’m not talking about that whole “Oh, this old thing?!” schtick; I’m talking full on “I’m not that pretty/handsome” disease. Beyond transferring the attention off of you, you’re actually batting the compliment away. Well, that seems silly you may think to yourself, why would I refuse a compliment?! Sacred Lie alert right here: I know that I’m pretty, but growing up I rarely received any praise or positive attention tied to my physical appearance so compliments used to make me feel really uncomfortable and very exposed – like I didn’t realize people were ACTUALLY looking at me. My inner-critic told me sure you’re pretty, but certainly not THAT pretty – not pretty enough for others to waste their time or breath on passing compliments. That’s just the crappiest kind of crap!

Do yourself and the complimenter a favor:

  1. Take a deep breath.
  2. Smile.
  3. Say thank you because nothing is more attractive than gratitude.
  4. Let the goodness make you feel happy – it’s okay.

You are worthy of having your physical appearance, business prowess, mental acuity, accessory choice, your whatever praised. Having pride in something is not the same as being a proud person and what better work to take pride in than yourself? You are a walking, talking, miracle magnet, bundle of love and joy! Own it!

Be open and receptive to all good things, compliments included.

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

