Passion Hunting! 8 Tips That Helped Me Fall In Love With Life

You can hardly look around the magazine aisle without seeing “Live the life you love” scrawled across at least a few issues of different magazines – especially women’s. What’s up? Passion seems to be the new “new age kool-aid”.

Of course it’s much deeper than hitting play on the “New Age: Greatest Hits” and I’ve noticed a kind of restlessness in the people around me. Instead of an invitation to unlock your passion, fall in love with your life, and step into your authentic power (I’m a cheerleader for you!) some see it as a kind of taunt – Why aren’t YOU living the life of your dreams?

Over coffee a friend of mine divulged her newfound desperation to break away from the malaise in her life, “Ugh I don’t even know what I like let alone my purpose. I’ve heard this a few times over from different people – different words, same feeling of overwhelm and urgency. I can’t speak for the world, but it seems people in my direct circle are desperate to grasp for more than just going through the motions.

It’s important. That “more”, that way of meeting your higher self, that way of taking yourself out of your mind touching your heart and soul – it’s so important. It’s also a process, a journey that shouldn’t be rushed and furthermore it should be FUN! The only way you’re going to know what you like and burst into what you love is by trying things so don’t get bogged down by the hugeness of it otherwise you’re kind of missing the point of reaching for bliss in the first place.

Here are a few tiddly bits to help keep you going (or get you started):

1.       Almost always, that thing you’ve been looking for is somehow incorporated into your life already.

I love, love and compassion and solving helping people see love and compassion everywhere. I also love problem solving and giving advice and people seem to trust me inherently. This past year I decided to pursue life coaching and will begin reaching for certification at the beginning of next year. What are you doing right now – no matter how little – that flips your happy into high gear?

2.       You have to try things. Passionate lives don’t just appear to those resting on their laurels.

I have had a mess of jobs that have put me in all different kind of positions and used up all of my different abilities. I take chances and put myself in situations and around people who make my best shine. Like people? Volunteer. Like athleticism? Learn the flying trapeze. Get out and do things, not only will you figure out what you do and don’t like, you’ll be around people that aren’t just waiting for life to come to them – which is exactly where you want to be.

3.       Be grateful for every little thing.

Yes, I get it your life could be a little better, but I can damn near guarantee you that the best way to move toward the passionate in love life you want is to be grateful for what you have right now. It’s not your dream job, but you have one. Your legs aren’t taking you up mountains right now, but they walked you to the corner store. Want more opportunities to pursue passion and get really turned on by life? Look for the little ways that the universe is reaching out to you RIGHT NOW.

4.       Let go of your expectations.

We, myself included (well, sometimes), get so caught up in what the outcome looks like. I thought being a lawyer would be the career of my dreams at one point, but with the hours and mountains of paperwork and research, the backstabbing, the lying – that just wasn’t in line with who I became. I would have never fallen in love with my life now if I held onto what my life was “supposed” to look like.

5.       Don’t take yourself, or anything, else so seriously.

Obviously, apply this where appropriate. I used to think that every little thing was the end of the world. No really, every.little,thing. Each problem that popped up was something that couldn’t possibly be rectified painlessly, every change was a threat to my comfort. You’re lovely, but get over it because the world isn’t coming crashing down. Learn to laugh, you’ll thank me.

6.       Be open.

This is semi-supplemental to Tip #4, but it’s vital to living the life you love especially if you don’t know what that looks like. Your job is to be open and put forth effort by trying new things, finding gratitude wherever possible, and letting go of the blocks that keep you where you don’t want to be – this takes a healthy dose of that scary “V” word – vulnerability. Don’t eschew things just because you think you won’t like it – especially if you’re basing that on what you’ve heard from so-and-so.

7.       Fall in love with the life you have now.

Again this is semi-supplemental (Tip #3), but it’s a slightly different, equally huge piece of the puzzle. You’re working on manifesting a passionate life, i.e. you are a co-author. It’s time to take responsibility for your own happiness and lend your hand to creating a life you want. In order to attract more of the good stuff you have to accept where you are now and love it. Love the journey!

8.       Be intentionally passionate and present.

This is an obvious, but often overlooked roadblock – open up those pretty little peepers! This tip is really broken down into two nuggets: 1.) Pursue passion – be passionate on purpose! You may get lucky and it may just bite you on the nose, but more often than not passion is a thing that you have to look for (even if it is right under your nose!). 2.) You cannot be trudging around in the past or future and worrying your days away about things that don’t really matter because you can’t control them. You have to be up front and mentally (soulfully!) present. How else will you see what is being offered to you?

Happy passion hunting!

Loving you always,

Kiera

4 thoughts on “Passion Hunting! 8 Tips That Helped Me Fall In Love With Life

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

