“You don’t need a vacation when there’s nothing to escape from.” Thank you, Mr. AZ

“It amazes me that most people spend more time planning next summer’s vacation than they do planning the rest of their lives.”
Patricia Fripp

I do it too – spend so much time talking the fantastical things that I want to do that I miss out on everyday opportunities to that are equally fantastical. I’ve made leaps and bounds in this department. If all miracles are equal in abundance and greatness then all opportunities for awesome be equal abundance in greatness, at least this is how it works in my mind.

I have a dream adventure – I’ve planned it out, I talk about it, I even Pinned it out once upon a time. I know exactly how much time and money I would have to put towards it – it isn’t in the cards this month unless I win the lottery or receive a mysterious large sum of money I’m sure you’ve thought about it too.

happy_dude

” You don’t need a vacation when there’s nothing to escape from.”
Jason Mraz

I’m a gushing fan of designing your own perfection (perfect hour, morning, afternoon, or whole damn day) because I truly believe that happiness should be is at your fingertips whenever you choose to grasp it.

What do you have planned for yourself tomorrow? Or next month? Or next year? What would your life look like if you took the same sense of control and clarity you get planning out a vacation and applied that to planning out your life? You are a co-author of your own life and it is proven that people who feel they have a sense of control over their life are generally happier.

Awareness is key. Are your experiences reinforcing a sense of helplessness or empowerment? Does your day-to-day routine lift you up or hold you suspended in air? Everyone has an end game, somewhere they want to be, are your choices leading you closer to or further from where you want to be?

You were not brought here suffer, you learn it somewhere along the way. We all do. There is every chance for joy wherever you look if only you’d open your gorgeous eyes. There is every reason to smile. There is every reason to shimmy.

There will be crappy days, days that seem to go on for months. There will be broken hearts, bloody noses, and deaths. Everyday can’t be the best day of your life, but the hard things feel so much more crippling when you don’t feel control over your consciousness.

Two If’s:

If you could do one thing right now to practice control over your life no matter how small (any action is a quantum leap) what would it be?

If you’re not in control of your life, then who are you giving the reigns to?

Love it or hate it - I'd love to hear from you!

